Goin’ Girly

Well, it took me longer than I’d hoped, but I finally completed my first piece of furntiure I hope to sell! This was a sad little piece of 70s brown with scratches and funny mismatched drawers – topped off with ugly brass pulls.

The lighting in the photo isn’t that good, but I was so excited to get a picture and post it! I must find my old camera and hope for a nicer day to get some pictures outside.

Because of the funny texture on the one drawer (not sure how that happened, perhaps the one drawer isn’t original to the piece?), I tried to fill it in with wood filler, but it’s a skill I need to work on. So I actually set this piece aside and started work on my dry sink (hopefully that’ll be my next post!). I wasn’t sure what colors I wanted to paint this but finally got the girly bug. I have little boys so I needed to indulge my inner pinkness!

I chose Ballerina Pink from Behr and added my plaster of paris to make home made chalk paint. Because the molding on the drawers is so wide, I used frog tape to divide it up and make a white and pink frame for the drawers. The sides are pink and the top and lower trim white. I waxed it with clear wax after testing a couple dark waxes and deciding that was too much. I sanded it and distressed it after waxing, then waxed it again.

The decoupage was done with good ol’ Mod Podge and scrapbook paper. I had to merge two pieces of paper together and I will probably not do that again. I’ts just a hassle when I could probably find fabric or wallpaper instead. I also painted the handles with chalk paint and waxed them and they look so much better now!

I intend to spray paint the inside of the drawers, just for a more polished look, when it’s a bit less humid out. *Shakes fist at Maryland summers*

I might also line the bottom of the drawers. Or not. What do you think?

Oh, and if you’re new here to my blog, well, you can see I am new, too! Check out my other posts, few though they are, to learn more about me. I hope to hang around a while!

Thanks for stopping by!

Sharing with (sorry, can’t get the buttons to work today!):

Liz Marie Blog

Miss Mustard Seed

The Rose Garden in Malevik

Funky Junk Interiors

Between Naps on the Porch

I Should Be Mopping the Floor

The Dedicated House

Southern Hospitality

Coastal Charm

Kammy’s Korner

Home Stories A 2 Z

Primitive & Proper

DIY by Design

Faded Charm Cottage

Domestically Speaking

Primp

A Bowl Full of Lemons

Savvy Southern Style

French Country Cottage

Brambleberry Cottage

The Shabby Creek Cottage

The 36th Avenue

My Repurposed Life

24 thoughts on “Goin’ Girly

  1. Fabulous transformation! I love the addition of the floral paper. I’ve got a vanity with chipped veneer that could use a treatment like this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Love the piece! What a nice and well thought through transformation. I’ll be working on my own ‘charity find’ chest of drawers soon.. still can’t make up my mind what theme to choose :). And I’m signing up to follow your work from now on.

  3. What an amazing transformation. I adore the girly look of the dresser. Great job. I would love for you to come and link this up to my party that opens tonight at 8pm EST. Hope to see you there.

  4. Hi! Great Project! I found you via MyRepurposedLife link party. (I posted the “Crazy Old Door!)” Like you, I’m still really new to this whole blogging process, too. I just started in July on WordPress.com. You’re off to a great start! I’ve been scrolling through your posts, and will sign up to follow as soon as I finish typing this. Like me, I see that you don’t have many followers yet, either. Now, you’ll have one more. We’ll get there! πŸ™‚ ~Amber

Leave a Reply

