Sandy! Etsy! Plans!

Well, as if we didn’t have enough excitement here, we’ve had to contend with Hurricane Sandy and our area being shut down for the last 3 days. Don’t get me wrong, we are sooooooo fortunate to not be in NJ or NY, but we had a bit of a wild ride here, that’s for sure.

Our house is surrounded by very tall trees so we really feared one might crash on the house. We spent most of Monday in the one room that we figured was least likely to get hit. We also have a basement, but it’s really gross down there, so that was only for when we got super worried. Fortunately our bit of Maryland did not get quite the high winds that were predicted. We’ve got a lot of debris down but we emerged unscathed and didn’t even lose power!

That said, it’s got me behind again on all things furniture. But obviously, we’re counting our blessings! The boys are on day 3 of no school so we’re all a bit stir crazy. I’m looking forward to getting back to some semblence of normal tomorrow – even if it means I have to work!

One thing I was really worried about was the booth in Ellicott City. That part of town has had HISTORIC floods. I had visions of my whole inventory floating away. Fortunately, the word is the town was largely in good shape. I’ll get to check it out later today I think.

Just before storm prep began, Mom and I happened across this little French Provincial-style beauty at Goodwill:

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve got grand plans for her! I found a great example of making Rrench pPovincial very classy… I’ll try to find the link again and update this post… but right now I’m envisioning a champagne metallic gold with a slightly darker glaze over it. I think to retain the French Provincial integrity, I’ll need to keep the handles, so I’ll play with some sort of paint on them but I need to find some replacement ones for the top two drawers. I’m pretty excited!

I think I also mentioned in a previous post that year I sold advent calendars on Etsy. The plan this year was to list a few ‘ready-to-ship’ calendars in order to use up our supplies from last year. Those would be sold at a lower price. If people wanted custom orders, I kept the listings but raised my prices. These are so cute, but they are time consuming and I wasn’t charging a smart price last year. Anyway, we’re working on the ready-to-ship ones to list next week but I’ve already sold TWO custom orders at my new, higher price and I’m super excited because I’m more than happy to make them at my new price. So that’s another project to keep us busy!

Anyway, if you like them, or think someone else might, feel free to pass the link along. We really need the money to pay for our car repairs. Big time. 😦 Last year I sold enough to get an iPad – even at the lower prices! I’ve also got a Facebook page for the calendars which I’m getting ready to go update now. 🙂

And for those of you who haven’t seen it, here’s the link for the Salvage for the Soul Facebook page.

Happy Hallowe’en!

Leave a Reply

